Pothead, Potato, Pigs, Pussycats, Patchouli, Pat Metheny, Pavlova, Prince, and plenty more.

I’ll admit it, pungent and peppery are neither names nor nouns but how else could I get arugula in?  Still, they are P-words, so here goes.

Pungent and Peppery Arugula with mixed salad

~ Vinaigrette recipe follows in a tick ~

Most of summer I eat green salad on a regular basis.  When I don’t have it growing in the garden, I simply buy arugula to mix with the lettuce greens – it always adds a little spirit!  In this part of Europe arugula is better known as rocket, roquette when in France, and rucola in the Netherlands.

I top my mixed greens with thinly sliced red onion, a few strips of sun-dried tomato or cherry tomatoes and Kalamata olives if I can get them and sometimes finely sliced carrot.

And if I remember I sprinkle it all with a few tablespoons of oat bran.  Weird, you may think?  It has a nutty flavour and apparently excels at transporting junk – not this salad :), just other stuff you eat – out of your body because of its ‘cling-to’ quality.  Also absorbs excess salad dressing, which I am often guilty of.

Bit of cheese goes well too: blue, mozzarella or freshly grated Parmesan.

A fruity alternativeJuicy minneola on mixed green salad

And for something entirely different (replacing above suggestions), top the mixed greens with slices of avocado, sliced orange or minneola, toasted pinenuts and crushed black pepper.

Vinaigrette – homemade

For a decade or so I experimented with making vinaigrettes.  Too bitter, too sour, too bland, too this, that and the other.

Until I got it right.  The following has been my faithful salad companion for at least ten years since I said Eureka!

Best Vinaigrette ever!Vital Vinaigrette

  • 100 ml olive oil (7 Tblsp)
  • 50 ml vinegar (3 Tblsp + 1 tsp)
    (50/50 apple cider vinegar with Balsamic)
  • 10 ml (2 tsp) grainy mustard
  • pinch salt & pepper each
  • pinch green dried herb (dill, fennel, etc.)
  • 1 small garlic clove – crushed (optional)
  • 15 to 30 ml (1 – 2 Tblsp)  liquid honey
    (or better still, maple syrup)

Shake it all well in a small bottle.

Keeps well in the fridge for a couple of weeks – vinegar preserves and so does mustard.

After taking the pics – sorry, I’m no food photographer – I ate above salad to the last morsel!

Now you can enjoy it too. 🙂

Comments on: "Pungent & Peppery Arugula + Vinaigrette recipe" (1)

  1. […] Also to finally settle on a favourite bread I experimented for ten years with bread-baking before I found the one I’m going to share with you here. (See also my favourite Vital Vinaigrette.) […]

Would you like to drop a note?

Tag Cloud

